Aziz Ansari is one of the funniest men working in comedy today and he sure knows how to dress!

aziz-ansari-buried-alive

As with his other comedy specials, Ansari is in form for Buried Alive. He’s dressed to the nines, has a strong routine, and looks comfortable throughout the show. As much as anything, he’s got style.

One of the things I appreciate most about Ansari, though, is the fact that his jokes fit pretty well with people of my age range. He’s always talking about that “starting a family” age, but as the outsider that isn’t starting one, so this naturally reaches me personally. But I also find he’s able to make jokes that have an edge to them, without ever really being nasty. So he takes shots at the parents obsessed with their own kids, but you never feel like it’s truly mean-spirited. I don’t come away from watching Ansari and feel like I’ve just spent time with a bad person who happens to be funny.

There are a few things that weren’t great though. A few times, the structure of the jokes was too obvious, especially when Ansari got into a series of jokes that were always oriented around patterns of three. When the structure of the joke becomes too predictable, it removes one element of surprise, and so takes away some of the power. One other critique is related to how Ansari tries to cross something of a taboo line by making a joke about black people. I won’t spoil the joke, but the point is that while it isn’t the most offensive thing I’ve ever heard, it also simply isn’t that funny. If you’re going to break taboo, you have to make it work, and I’m not sure that Ansari pulled that one off.

Overall, though, a solid performance. I’m not sure Ansari will ever do better than his thread count bit, but Buried Alive is a fine follow-up all the same.

